Beaking News

Friday, 03 June 2016 00:00

AR Rahman to be honoured with top Japanese culture prize 2016 Featured

Another prestigious award to Music maestro AR Rahman. He has been awarded with the Grand Fukuoka Prize 2016 for his outstanding contribution to Asian culture through his mesmerizing music.The Grand Fukuoka Prize is a top Japanese culture Prize.

Rahman has been invited to the city to deliver a public lecture on 'From the Heart: The World of A R Rahman's Music' , as a part of ceremony.The    Secretariat of Fukuoka prize committee has also selected Philippines' historian Ameth R Ocampo (Academic Prize) and Yasmeen Lari from Pakistan (Arts and Culture Prize) along with the 49-year-old Oscar winning composer for the honour.The Grand Fukuoka Prize is an annual award which was established by Fukuoka City , Japan in 1990. The main aim of this award is to honour the outstanding  contributions of  individuals ,groups and organizations working to preserve and promote the unique and diverse culture of Asia.

 AR Rahman started his movie career with Tamil film Roja. Mani Ratnam directed it.Rahman's  first big break in bollywood came with Rangeela. Ram Gopal Varma directed it.He is now one of the top most music directors in our country.His brilliant compositions include films like Bombay, Dil Se, Taal, Lagaan, Rand De Basanti,Delhi 6, Rockstar, Highway, Tamasha etc. He failed to impress with his recent hit "24" but back ground score received good applause.Rahman is building up an impressive career in Hollywood after composing Jai Ho for Slumdog Millionaire, which bought him two Academy awards and a Golden Globe trophy. 

 Slumdog Millionaire is a 2008 drama film directed by British film director Danny Boyle.Previous winners of the Grand Fukuoka Prize from India include prominent personalities such as sitar player Ravi Shankar, Partha Chatterjee, dancer Padma  Subrahmanyam,  sarod maestro Amjad Ali Khan, Ashish Nandy,  historian Romila Thapar,Vandana  Shiva, Nalini Malini and  historian Ramachandra Guha.Winners from other countries include Nobel laureates Mo Yan (China) and Muhammad Yunus (Bangladesh).

Read 990 times